Rediscovering Leeds 

While Leeds is only a 40 minute train journey for me, I’m ashamed to say I haven’t actually been since graduating from the University of Leeds 4 years ago. With the start of the summer holidays, and no travelling booked for another week, I decided it was definitely time to return!

My first stop was the university just for nostalgia and boy did I get a pang to return to my student days! I also had to drop off some library books for the boyfriend who has just finished his teacher training course there, but took the time to revisit one of my old haunts- Opposite (opposite Parkinsonism Steps, obviously) for a quick cup of tea. I was quite impressed with my ability to remember the shortcuts through town to get to uni from the train station, proving 3 years is definitely enough to get a good homing pigeon sense developed!

I then headed back into town, past Dry Dock (another favourite, a pub in a boat) and the more scenic old buildings en route to Leeds City Museum for a quick nosey. I think I visited only once as a student  (what a bad historian!) but it was a pleasant enough half an hour reading about the history of Leeds and looking at the ancient collection- the mummy being a fascinating favourite. It’s small but it is free and has loads of stuff for kids to do, so definitely could be a whole afternoon’s worth for families.

The main appeal of Leeds however is of course the shopping! I love wandering around the old arcades and visiting the small boutiques, but being on a budget is stuck to one purchase- a tea strainer and some loose leaf Dream Time tea from Whittard’s which is so fragrant and relaxing as I’m writing this post now! I could totally buy so much of that shop it’s unreal, even now I’m still thinking of the mango and passionfruit flavour I loved but didn’t buy. This might become my latest indulgence habit…

After perusing several shops I made my way to the Trinity shopping centre to meet a friend for lunch. It wasn’t even complete when I left Leeds as a graduate so it was still new and exciting to me, and strangely easy to get lost in with the various exits! (My sense of direction is shocking) I still had a lovely browse of all the shops and some serious window shopping of all the designer brands.

We naturally went straight to Trinity Kitchen which I’d heard so much about online- we quickly decided on Pho for Pho Xao- Vietnamese chicken and prawn wok fried noodles, which were very tasty but very messy. I am hopeless with chopsticks and eventually snook over to get a fork and admit defeat. We contemplated the handmade ice cream or mini nutella pancakes for dessert but in the end we were just too full from the noodles to want much more, although they did look amazing.
I definitely should have revisited Leeds before now, and had a really lovely day out so hopefully I will be back again soon to keep exploring!

One thought on “Rediscovering Leeds 

  1. This post has made me so nostalgic for my time in Leeds. I haven’t been back since graduating, but am hoping now I’m based in the UK again I’ll be able to spend a weekend up in Leeds, and revisit Ilkley Moor/ the Yorkshire Dales while I’m there! I remember Trinity being under construction during my first year – Leeds evolved a lot in the short space of time I was there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

