New Year’s Resolution: Take every opportunity to travel!

I didn’t use to make (and definitely didn’t do well at keeping) new years resolutions but since my 2016 one of getting healthier actually succeeded, I thought I’d set myself another one for 2017…. to take every opportunity to travel! Although I’ve got a bit more to spend on travelling this year, I doubt it will be as ambitious or adventurous as many people as I’m also trying to save up for my own house but it’s a start. 

So far I have properly planned a couple of trips but there’s others I would love to fit in at some point this year and cross some places off my city break bucket list

London: several trips to London are in the pipeline over the next few months- a birthday weekend celebration with my uni friends at the end of the month, a mini break during February half term to be a complete tourist plus a wedding in March to look forwards to. 

Cyprus: We’ll be returning to Cyprus over the Easter holidays for a spot of sun and relaxation and hopefully explore further afield if we hire a car this time.

St Andrews, Scotland: Another wedding in August takes us to St Andrews, and we’re going to make the most of it, having booked a family holiday for the week with my parents, brother and his girlfriend. Not exactly summer holiday weather but it will no doubt be good fun!

Spain: One of the perks of working in a private school is the long holidays, and I have a few weeks at the beginning of July when I am off and for once wouldn’t be done over by school holiday price hauls. I’m thinking Barcelona, Valencia and possibly Granada in a long road trip. As much as I love going away with the other half, sometimes travelling alone is just what I need.

Paris: The boyfriend’s mother lives very close to the Eurostar and so when we visit in July sometime I’m planning on popping across to La Belle France for a day or two to explore this beautiful city.
Vienna: Absolutely would love to visit Vienna and my dad is also very keen so it might be a perfect daddy-daughter get away. I was thinking May half term for this one, as it would be beautiful in the sunshine but not too hot for my cold blooded Yorkshire father!

Amsterdam: Not sure when I can squeeze this one in, but with mini cruises leaving from my home town of Hull, it seems like a perfect one to tick off over a bank holiday perhaps? A girly weekend might have my name on it…

So there’s my plans! Have you got any tips or suggestions to help out a budget traveller wanting to see it all? 

Leave a Reply

