Geneva Hostel

I arrived at Geneva Hostel on Rue Rothschild late Friday night and am staying for 3 nights so that I can have a couple of days sightseeing before heading off to France to start my conservation project with Rempart that I mentioned in my last post. So here’s a quick review of the hostel, and I’ll post about what I’ve been up to tomorrow when I’m more awake!

A bed in an all female, 6 bed room at Hostel Geneva is CHF36 per night, which also includes breakfast and a city travel card that covers trains, trams, buses and taxi boats for the length of your stay, so its pretty good value for Geneva prices. Its situated just 5 minutes from the lakeside and 10 minutes from Cornavin station so pretty central but not right in the middle of the busy main town. They charged me for two nights before I arrived and then the third when I got here. The staff are very friendly but have varying levels of English so I had to draw on my French to get checked in successfully- something I’m quite proud of! 

The room is a decent size for a dormitory with fairly comfortable beds- you have to make these up yourself with sheets collected from reception but that’s fine.You get an electronic key card that lets you into the dorm area, your room, the bathroom and showers and also a large locker just outside your room which is fab for storing luggage (although they do have a luggage drop at reception too). They also have plugs next to each bed underneath the lamp to charge your phone which is very useful!

Breakfast is simple but good- bread, jam, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, ham, cheese, juice and coffee are on a buffet queue and you just grab what you want. They also offer dinner in the evening for CHF13.5 or CHF16 with dessert and a drink, but frankly this isn’t a great price as it’s fairly simple like mince and rice or a jacket potato- you can find cheap ish restaurants nearby selling pizza and burgers for around CHF17-20 that would be more a satisfying meal if your not on a really strict budget.

Went to go and investigate the noise

The only downside is that Friday night had some live music just down the road and since it’s quite hot we had the window open so could hear it all until it ended about midnight. There is also supposed to be a noise curfew at 10 in the corridors but this isn’t enforced so there’s quite a few loud bangs and shouts as people go out on the town…. and then come back again in the early hours.

Stay tuned to read about my sightseeing and hike up Mount Saleve tomorrow! If you’ve been to this beautiful city, any tips for what to do before I leave? Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

