Geneva Day 2

Sunday morning saw another early morning ready for my trip to Mount Saleve. I walked to the city centre and caught the number 8 bus to the mountain using my free travel card from the hostel which takes you within 5 minutes of the cable car station- rember to take your passport as you do cross in to France to get to Saleve! It’s fabulous that within 20 minutes of the capital there’s such a great day out in the beautiful countryside, and I loved it.

I decided to get the cable car up as it looked so steep. At only €5.60 for a one way youth ticket (18-25 years old) it was good value for the views and the speed you got to the top. Once I arrived, I made the 20 minute walk up to the observation point right at the top of the mountain, passing some amazing views and even a few paragliders. I then began the decent which was possibly even worse than going up as it was straight down a steep gravel path that gave way underfoot- I twisted my ankle twice and fell on my bum but thankfully nobody saw! 

Upon returning to Geneva I needed to relax after the trauma of the decent so headed to Bains de Paquis to sunbathe for a few hours and have a swim in the lake which was amazing if a little cold. At €2 it was such good value knowing it was a safe place to swim right in the city centre, even though it was packed on such a hot day!
I’d heard about a good cheap restaurant in the hostel and since it was known to get busy I headed over for an early ish dinner at Chez ma Cousine. I took the M1 mouette water taxi to the old city and past the famous Jet d’Eau using the free transport card again, and it was just round the corner from the Cathedral.  For CHF19 I had half a bbq chicken, pommes provencal and a huge salad with a glass of wine to wash it all down- amazing value in Geneva and it tasted so good! I wish I had found this place earlier as I would go back again and again, and would definitely recommend it.

I’m sad to be leaving Geneva as I absolutely loved it, but it’s time for my next adventure on France restoring a Napoleonic fort at Forts de L’Esseillon… here we go!

Leave a Reply

