El Toro Tapas, Hull

As a big tapas fan, I was very happy when a few friends decided to head to El Toro for dinner. I had never been and was certainly not disappointed.

Located on Princes Avenue in Hull, it was very busy on a Friday night with people heading for a night out, but this did make the atmosphere quite lively if not a bit noisy.

We decided to share the tapas plates rather than going for a main meal and so I got to sample a nice selection of their food. I chose the chicken and chorizo paella which was really good and the deep fried king prawns with aioli oil from the specials menu, which were so amazing I didn’t really feel like sharing! The prawns were succulent, the San Miguel batter cripsy and light and the aioli had just the right amount of garlic- they got the whole dish spot on! I also got to sample some very simple but tasty patatas bravas and spicy vegetable skewers. The calamari rings did look good but I’m unfortunately allergic so had to miss out.

El Toro is a fab little place to try a huge range of tapas at a reasonable price, although the alcoholic drinks were a little expensive. I would definitely go again and keep working my way through the menu!

Leave a Reply

