My Summer 10

IMG_9562 (1)After reading this blog, I decided to create my own list of what I want to do this summer- I don’t know how many I’ll achieve but it’s always good to have something to aim for. The summer holidays can disappear all too quickly and hopefully this will help me to make the most of my time off- we’ll see how I do by the end of August! It’s surprisingly hard to think of ten things to start with, but with a little brain power and imagination, here is my Summer 10:

  1. Go camping- We’ve invested in a tent of our own so it’s about time we used it now summer is here. I’ve been in Scouting for years and love it- the boyfriend has never been and needs introducing to the call of the wild!
  2. Draw something- I’ll be the first to admit I’m not a great artist but I do enjoy it. My pad and pencils have been stuck in a cupboard for ages and since I live in such a picturesque place I keep meaning to have a go at drawing it.
  3. Have friends round for dinner- we haven’t done this in ages as our friends are all over he country but it’s about time we had a catch up and even show off our cookery skills!
  4. Complete my Gold DofE Award- I’ve been working on my Duke of Edinburgh Award for a few years now and I’m determined this is the summer when it finally gets done. I’ve got my 4 day expedition in the Yorkshire Dales and my residential section doing archaeology in Spain in the next few weeks, so hopefully I’ll be at the Palace with the Duke by the end of the year!
  5. Learn basic Spanish– linking to my DofE residential where I’ll be in Spain for two weeks, I really should learn a bit of the language. I haven’t done it since I was in year 7 but I got my pocket Spanish dictionary through the post today and intend to give it a go…
  6. Read a book every week– I used to read loads when I was younger but now work just gets in the way and I never seem to have time. There’s nothing like opening a new book and diving in, so I plan to try and read one a week now I have time off… and review them on my blog, of course.
  7. Go to the seaside- I was bought up 20 minutes from the coast, and a day at the seaside is a firm favourite still. I plan to be a huge child and swim in the sea, eat fish and chips on the sea wall, visit the tacky amusments and build at least one sandcastle. Summer holiday heaven!
  8. Sort out the garden– a little boring but necessary as our garden currently resembles a jungle. I keep dreaming of sitting outside with a good book in the sunshine so it’s definitely time to get the cutters out and get a little green fingered.
  9. Get fit and healthy– I’ve been trying to slowly lose weight and get fitter this year, and now I have time I can do this a bit more regularly- no staff room biscuits for me! I want to get my 10,000 steps per day every day, make sure I eat my 5 fruit and veg a day, and from that to try some new recipes. I want to go swimming more regularly and go cycling a bit more. However I do need to remember to take my bike to get looked at as there’s currently a bit if metal sticking out that cuts my leg every time I get on. Note to self….
  10. Revamp my lessons- I’m allowed one work related one so here it is (although hopefully not left to the last minute like it has been on this list). Now I’ve completed my NQT year I feel I know what I’m doing and can make my lessons even better and more exciting. It’ll take a while, but I know it’ll be worth it in the end.
4 thoughts on “My Summer 10

Leave a Reply

