Weetons Food Hall, Harrogate

After reading about this place in Leeds Foodie’s blog (review here) and passing it several times on the way into Harrogate, I decided it was about time I visited Weetons.

Unfortunately, there were no seats outside in the sunshine when I arrived for lunch, but I luckily found one inside on a very busy Monday lunchtime. I can honestly say everything on their menu looked tempting and it did take me a while to decide, but I eventually chose their goat’s cheese salad, which was frankly amazing.

The cheese was so soft and tasty, and there was plenty of it too- I hate skimpy salads! The addition of poached pear and orange chutney really made it special, and although the beetroot is almost universally accepted as going with goat’s cheese now, I felt that there was just a bit too much of it on the plate. Nevertheless, it was one of the best salads I have had in a long time!

I then headed into the deli section, where I couldn’t resist getting some of their goat’s cheese for myself, plus some Yorkshire Blue cheese and a few slices of Salami Napoli which was all at a really good price. I was a little worried that such a up-market deli place that sells numerous “artisan” products would be expensive, but it was very reasonable for such good produce.

The salami tasted brilliant on homemade pizza, but it did curl up a little in the process- maybe this was because it was so thinly sliced? The Yorkshire Blue however was the star of the show- it ended up in a salad of blue cheese, apple and walnuts and also a mushroom and blue cheese pasta sauce, both of which were amazing. The cheese is creamy and full of flavour without being too strong. Weetons clearly has it right, and we will have to return to sample more of their yummy products!

Leave a Reply

