Cycling around Knaresborough

This week I went for a bike ride for the first time in about 4 years. I downloaded the MapMyRide app, which suggests routes around you, as well as mapping where you’ve been and for how long, how many calories burnt etc. After battling the bike out of the door that seems determined not to open properly, I set off in the morning sunshine with the wind in my hair…. which was a tangled birds nest by the time I got home!

imageAnyway, I cycled along the Beryl Burton cycle way between Harrogate and Knaresborough alongside Bilton Beck. It was actually a really lovely route with lots of flowers coming through and birds singing. I did feel a little out of place as it was busy with “real” cyclists in their lycra and expensive kit, but it all seems a bit over the top to me. Plus my grandmother has a weird thing for lycra after the Tour de Yorkshire and I now can’t look at the stuff without cringing!

I then headed down some back roads towards Knaresborough and the River Nidd, stopped for an ice cream on the riverside before cycling back past the Castle and towards the village of Cattal. I clearly need to be fitter, as some of the hills defeated me and I ended up walking, but it did feel good to be out and about. It’s quite a nice route, and joined up a few paths that I’ve walked before and now see how they all connect, and I think it’d be quite easy to connect some more to make it longer now I’ve figured it out. Once I’ve fixed my bike to remove the bit of metal that cuts into my leg, this might become a regular thing!

Leave a Reply

