My February Resolution

The New Year’s resolution to lose a bit of the Christmas podge and get fit seems to be working, but honestly when is that ever going to make you smile? It’s the second day of half term and since I’ve now recovered from the flu the pupils gave me and can actually leave the bed, I’m now bored with the slightest bit of spare time I have. I want to get out there and actually do something with this holiday, I want to have a life like a normal twenty-something instead of spending all my time marking books and flopping on the sofa watching CSI. And as Dr Seuss said “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go”.

image

However childish this may be, it made me realise something. I’ve been living in North Yorkshire for nearly 6 months now and feel like I haven’t really explored it properly. And I need to do something about that. So here’s my new and somewhat belated resolution- every weekend I am going to visit an attraction, go on a day trip or just have a wander around a new place for an afternoon. I have a day out with the mother in Harrogate planned for tomorrow, an anniversary day trip to see the baby seals at Scarborough Sea Life Center and plans to head down to London at the weekend. Hopefully with a bit of sunshine and some good company, this will be a good week!

Leave a Reply

